Halton District School year begins Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Oodenawi Public School,
Upper Oakville Shopping Centre Christmas Promotion 2016 Breakfast with Santa
Advertisement

The Halton District School Board is eagerly preparing for the start of the 2016-17 school year, which begins Wednesday, September 7, 2016.

This year, Tuesday, September 6 is designated a professional activity day for school staff. The 2016-17 school calendar, approved by the Board of Trustees in February, received official approval from the Ontario Ministry of Education in April 2016. These dates have been provided to schools and shared with students and parents.

Here is the listing of Holidays, and PA Days that have been approved for the Halton District School Board.

Thurs. September 1, 2016 Board designated holiday
Fri. September 2, 2016 Board designated holiday
Mon. September 5, 2016 Labour Day
Tues. September 6, 2016 P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
Wed. September 7, 2016 First day of instruction (Elem/Sec)
Fri. October 7, 2016 P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
Mon. October 10, 2016 Thanksgiving Day
Fri. November 25, 2016 P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
Mon. Dec 26, 2016 to Fri. Jan 6, 2017 (inclusive) Winter Break
January 26, 2017 – February 1, 2017 Exams (Secondary only)
Fri. February 3, 2017 P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
Mon. February 6, 2017 First day of instruction (Semester 2)
Mon. February 20, 2017 Family Day
Fri. March 10, 2017 P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
March 13-17, 2017 Spring Break
Fri. April 14, 2017 Good Friday
Mon. April 17, 2017 Easter Monday
Fri. April 28, 2017 P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
Mon. May 22, 2017 Victoria Day
Fri. June 2, 2017 P.A. Day (Elementary only)
June 22 – June 28, 2017 Exams (Secondary only)
Thurs. June 29, 2017 Last day of instruction secondary
Fri. June 30, 2017 Last day of instruction elementary
P.A. Day (Secondary only)

Note: P.A. Day is a Professional Activity Day for school staff and therefore there are
no classes for students.

The school year calendar is developed with input from the School Year Calendar Committee consisting of representatives from interested and affected groups, including parents. Where possible, this school year calendar is aligned with the Halton Catholic District School Board calendar, to save resources on school bus transportation, which is shared between the boards.

Subscribe for FREE and STAY informed with OakvilleNews.Org
Advertisement

Tags:

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Readers Comments (0)




Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

%d bloggers like this: