Celebrating Student Excellence at HCDSB!

Stained Glass Window of Ingnatius
Celebrating Student Excellence at HCDSB!
Find Oakville's Cheapest Gas

About the Author

Amanda Bartucci

Amanda Bartucci

Amanda Bartucci is the Communications Officer at Halton Catholic District School Board. She is attended St. Ignatius of Loyola in Oakville, and is a graduate of both Ontario College of Art & Design University and Humber College. She has been in her current position since 2013.

Latest posts (See all)


On Monday, April 25, 2016, the Halton Catholic District School Board held its 28th Annual Student Awards of Excellence Ceremony.

“To each student recipient here tonight – thank you for your compassion, and for your generosity of spirit. You truly are a blessing to us all and your actions contribute to the distinctiveness of our Catholic schools.” – Paula Dawson, Director of Education

The annual celebration, held this year at Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School in Oakville, recognizes recipients of the Student Awards of Excellence and the Spirit of Inclusion Awards.

Halton Catholic District School Boards: Oakville Schools

Holy Trinity Secondary Family of Schools

  1. Holy Trinity Secondary School~ Rebecca Vukojevic
  2. Holy Family School~ Leah Chin
  3. Our Lady of Peace School~ Alexandria Zilli
  4. St. Andrew School~ Kyle Somers
  5. St. John School~ Diego Arabit
  6. St. Marguerite d’Youville School~ Adam Cherepacha
  7. St. Michael School~ Isabela Juricic

St. Ignatius of Loyola Secondary Family of Schools

  1. St. Ignatius of Loyola Secondary School~ Kaitlin D’Agostino
  2. Mother Teresa School~ Ada Di Censo
  3. St. Bernadette School~ Caroline Da Silveira
  4. St. Joan of Arc School~ Josefina Espinosa
  5. St. John Paul II School~ Mia Tustanic
  6. St. Mary School~ Emily Elsie
  7. St. Matthew School~ Celeste O’Brien

St. Thomas Aquinas Secondary Family of Schools

  1. St. Thomas Aquinas Secondary School~ Manuela Zapata
  2. St. Dominic School~ Sarah Mills
  3. St. James School~ Sierra Vaillancourt
  4. St. Joseph School~ Rebecca McCabe
  5. St. Luke School~ Zane Almeida
  6. St. Vincent School~ Matthew Molinaro​

Thomas Merton Centre for Continuing Education

  1. Thomas Merton Centre~ Sydney McFarlane

His Excellency Douglas Crosby, Bishop of Hamilton presided at the Celebration of the Eucharist for ​students and their families, and for Trustees and Halton Catholic staff.

The Student Award of Excellence is presented annually to a student from each elementary and secondary school who has demonstrated outstanding qualities in Catholic leadership, family commitment, involvement in school affairs and community activities.

The Spirit of Inclusion Award was created by the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC), and is presented each year to one elementary student and one secondary student who has demonstrated a positive attitude, and has made others feel valued and respected as unique individuals in their school community.



, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,