Inaugural meeting of the 2014-2018 Halton Regional Council

A total of 18 councillors from Burlington, Halton Hills, Milton, and Oakville took the oath of office

Gary Carr, Swearing In Ceremony, 2014, Oakville, Halton, Regional Council
Inaugural meeting of the 2014-2018 Halton Regional Council
Find Oakville's Cheapest Gas

About the Author

Gary Carr

Gary Carr

In 2006, Gary was elected to the position of Regional Chair at the Regional Municipality of Halton, and was re-elected to the position in 2010. Gary sits on the Standing Committees of Health and Social Services, Administration and Finance, and Planning and Public Works, in addition to a number of Advisory Committees. Gary is also a member of the board for the Greater Toronto Marketing Alliance, and served on the Halton Regional Police Services Board and Metrolinx.

Latest posts (See all)


At an inaugural ceremony held today at the Halton Regional Centre in Oakville, Members of Halton Regional Council were sworn in for the 2014-2018 term of office. The Honourable Mr. Justice Dale F. Fitzpatrick presided over the Declarations of Office. The Reverend Canon H. Stuart Pike, Rector of St. Luke’s Anglican Church, Burlington, delivered the invocation.

In my inaugural address, Regional Councillors were congratulated on their election. Also discussed were past accomplishments including the Region’s more than $2 billion investment in water, wastewater and transportation infrastructure (2011-2016), the roll out of a 10-year Economic Development Strategy, the creation of 894 new assisted housing units since 2007 and extension of the landfill’s life to 2044, saving taxpayers $15 million. Looking to the future, Regional Council will focus on citizen engagement and the development of a new strategic action plan to set the direction for the upcoming term. To learn more about the action plan, or provide input, visit

I am honoured to have been elected as the Regional Chair for a third term and I look forward to working with Regional Council over the next four years. We have achieved a great deal over the past eight years. Halton is the safest regional municipality in Canada. Residents consistently tell us how much they like living in Halton, with 99 per cent rating the overall quality of life here as very high. With our AAA credit rating and zero per cent average tax increase for Regional services over the last eight years, Halton really is a great place to live, work and raise a family and retire.

Halton Regional Council 2014-2018

Regional Chair

Gary Carr

City of Burlington

Rick Goldring (Mayor)
Rick Craven (Ward 1)
Marianne Meed Ward (Ward 2)
John Taylor (Ward 3)
Jack Dennison (Ward 4)
Paul Sharman (Ward 5)
Blair Lancaster (Ward 6)

Town of Halton Hills

Rick Bonnette (Mayor)
Clark Somerville (Wards 1 & 2)
Jane Fogal (Wards 3 & 4)

Town of Milton

Gordon Krantz (Mayor)
Mike Cluett (Wards 1, 6, 7, 8)
Colin Best (Wards 2, 3, 4, 5)

Town of Oakville

Rob Burton (Mayor)
Sean O’Meara (Ward 1)
Cathy Duddeck (Ward 2)
Dave Gittings (Ward 3)
Allan Elgar (Ward 4)
Jeff Knoll (Ward 5)
Tom Adams (Ward 6)



, , , , , , , , , , , ,