Proposed 2018-2019 School Year Calendar

2018-2019 School Year Calendar
Proposed 2018-2019 School Year Calendar

At the April 18, 2018 Board meeting, trustees of the Halton District School Board approved the proposed the dates for upcoming 2018-2019 School Year Calendar. Final approval of the calendar by the Ministry of Education is anticipated later in Spring 2018.

The school year calendar is developed with input from the School Year Calendar Committee consisting of representatives from interested and affected groups, including parents/guardians. The 2018-2019 school year calendar is aligned with the Halton Catholic District School Board calendar, to save resources on school bus transportation, which is shared between the boards.

Earlier this month, the Board conducted a survey with parents and guardians for feedback regarding their date preference for the Professional Activity (PA) Day in October 2018. The date choices were October 5 and 22. Based on the results, 70 per cent preferred October 5 as the PA Day.

Proposed 2018-2019 school year calendar

  1. Monday September 3, 2018 – Labour Day
  2. Tuesday September 4, 2018 – First day of instruction (Elem/Sec)
  3. Monday September 17, 2018 *- P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
  4. Friday October 5, 2018 – P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
  5. Monday October 8, 2018 – Thanksgiving Day
  6. Friday November 23, 2018 – P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
  7. Friday December 21, 2018 ** – Last day of school before Winter Break
  8. Monday December 24, 2018 – Friday January 4, 2019 (inclusive) Winter Break
  9. Monday January 7, 2019 – School resumes (Elem/Sec)
  10. January 24-30, 2019 – Exams (Secondary only)
  11. Friday February 1, 2019 – P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
  12. Monday February 4, 2019 – First day of instruction (Semester 2-Secondary)
  13. Friday February 15, 2019 – P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
  14. Monday February 18, 2019 – Family Day
  15. March 11-15, 2019 – Spring Break
  16. Friday April 12, 2019 – P.A. Day (Elementary & Secondary)
  17. Friday, April 19, 2019 – Good Friday
  18. Monday April 22, 2019 – Easter Monday
  19. Monday May 20, 2019 – Victoria Day
  20. Friday June 7, 2019 – P.A. Day (Elementary only)
  21. Friday June 28, 2019 – P.A. Day (Secondary only)
  22. June 20-26, 2019 – Exams (Secondary only)
  23. Thursday June 27, 2019 – Last day of instruction secondary
  24. Friday June 28, 2019 ** – Last day of instruction elementary • P.A. Day (Secondary only)

P.A. Day is a Professional Activity Day for school staff and therefore there are no classes for students.

Note:
* September 17, 2018 P.A. Day is a Monday.
** Students dismissed 90 minutes early.

Tags:

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Readers Comments (0)


You must be logged in to post a comment.