Town of Oakville says thanks at 13th Annual Community Spirit Awards

Nine individuals, groups and organizations honoured for outstanding contributions

Award winners
Town of Oakville says thanks at 13th Annual Community Spirit Awards
Find Oakville's Cheapest Gas

About the Author

Janine Ivings

Janine Ivings

Janine is the senior communications advisor at Town of Oakville. She graduated from the University of Windsor.

Latest posts (See all)


Oakville’s outstanding volunteers were celebrated for their exemplary contributions to the community at the 13th Annual Community Spirit Awards held last night at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre.

2014 Community Spirit Award recipients:

“On behalf of Council, thank you to all of our community champions—the award winners and their fellow nominees—for their inspiring commitment to improving the lives of others,” said Oakville Mayor Rob Burton. “The countless hours they’ve spent supporting important causes in our vibrant community is greatly appreciated.”

The Weather Network’s Chris Mei was the emcee for the evening, entertaining the audience while sponsors handed out the awards. Each recipient received a one-of-a-kind, intricately crafted and themed diorama by award-winning artist Soyeon Kim.

“This year’s awards are as special and unique as the individuals and groups who received them,” said Nina de Vaal, director of recreation and culture for the Town of Oakville. “The important attributes and the spirit of each award category and recipient have been captured beautifully in the art pieces by Soyeon Kim.”

Since 2002, Oakville’s Community Spirit Awards have recognized individuals and groups for their outstanding contributions to the community.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,